Even if you do not have a legal background, you certainly know the basics of Florida auto insurance laws from reviewing your responsibilities to procure coverage according to law. The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) requires all four-wheeled vehicles to carry $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and $10,000 for property damage. Because the state goes by “no fault” rules for auto accidents, there is no requirement to carry the bodily injury coverage that is mandatory in other US states. Florida drivers can seek compensation through their own insurers under their PIP policy after a crash.
However, motorcycle riders should pay special note to the keywords “four-wheeled vehicles.” Insurance works very differently for your two-wheeled motorcycle, so you should be aware of how this point affects your rights after a collision. The complexities can be overwhelming, so it is wise to trust a Miami motorcycle accident lawyer to handle the legal process. Some background information may also be helpful.
Overview of Florida Insurance Laws for Motorcycles