If you use ridesharing services to get around Miami, you are probably drawn to the convenience, reasonable cost, and ease of being able to bring up the app and arrange a trip. Millions of others apparently agree with you, leading to astronomical success for companies like Uber and Lyft – which boast $17.6 billion in combined global net revenue. Of course, when an industry demands such an enormous market share, you can expect that lawmakers will step in to regulate it. Key legislation and agency regulations govern everything from the relationships between drivers and rideshare services, to insurance and fare limitations. Some of the laws that apply to motor vehicle accidents will be extremely important if you were hurt in a crash while riding in an Uber or Lyft. Your Miami rideshare accidents lawyer will take the lead in handling the legal issues, but you should be aware of the following Florida rideshare accident laws.
Laws Regarding Compensation in an Uber or Lyft Crash
A ridesharing collision is a type of personal injury case, so your monetary damages are similar to what you would receive in any other auto accident. In a successful claim, you can recover compensation for your medical costs, lost wages, pain and suffering, and other losses.
Insurance Coverage Requirements
Florida’s statute uses the term ‘transportation network companies’ (TNC) to refer to ridesharing services, and there are multiple provisions regarding insurance. The most important one for Uber and Lyft accident victims relates the minimum coverage that the TNC driver must carry, which is $1 million for death, injuries, and property damage. The requirement takes effect when the operator is actively engaged in transporting a passenger.
Status of TNC Drivers
Another Florida ridesharing law pertains to the relationship between the TNC and the people who provide services through the mobile app. The driver may seem to be an employee when picking you up in an Uber or Lyft, but that person is an independent contractor. As such, the laws that would hold an employer responsible for the negligence of an employee do NOT apply.
Consequences for Riding Without the App
It is tempting to make a private arrangement for a ride without using the app, since a TNC driver might negotiate a lower fare. However, you put your rights at risk in the event of an accident. If the driver is not officially engaged in a ride through the app, the $1 million insurance coverage amount does not apply. You may need to seek compensation through the TNC driver’s private insurance.
Your Rights When a Third Party is at Fault
If you were a rideshare passenger in an accident caused by another motorist, you can still seek compensation for your losses. The best practice is to file a claim with both drivers’ insurance companies.
Get More Information From a Miami Rideshare Accidents Attorney
For more information on your legal options as the victim of an Uber or Lyft collision, please contact Gerson & Schwartz, PA. We are happy to set up a no-cost case evaluation at our offices in Miami, Fort Lauderdale, or West Palm Beach, FL. Once we review your situation, we can advise you on your rights and remedies.